Botham and PM’s brother to join House of Lords

Boris Johnson and Sir Ian BothamImage copyright
PA Media

Former England cricket captain Sir Ian Botham is to join the House of Lords, the government has confirmed.

The 64-year-old, a strong supporter of Brexit, is among 32 new peers, who also include former Chancellors Ken Clarke and Philip Hammond.

Former Scottish Conservative leader Ruth Davidson is another who will receive the honour.

Ex-Labour MPs Frank Field, Kate Hoey, Gisela Stewart, Ian Austin and John Woodcock are to become peers as well.

Another on the list is Jo Johnson, the prime minister’s Remain-supporting younger brother, who stood down as an MP at the last election.

He resigned as a minister last September, saying he was “torn between family loyalty and the national interest”.

Ashes glory

Sir Ian, who played 102 Test matches for England between 1977 and 1992, is an advocate of field sports and a prominent Brexit supporter who was knighted in 2007, in recognition of his services to charity and cricket.

His most famous moment on the field came in 1981 when he inspired a sensational defeat of Australia. After retirement, he became a commentator and started his own wine brand.

He will sit as a crossbench – independent – peer.

Image copyright
PA Media

Image caption

Ruth Davidson stood down from frontline politics last year

Mr Clarke and Mr Hammond were among 21 Conservative MPs who lost the party whip last autumn when they rebelled against Mr Johnson in a bid to prevent a no-deal Brexit.

Ms Davidson quit as Scottish Tory leader last August after eight years in the role, saying the idea of spending long periods away from her young son filled her with “dread”.

Evgeny Lebedev, owner of the Independent and the London Evening Standard also becomes a peer, as does Sir Charles Moore, former Daily Telegraph editor and biographer of ex-Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher.

Other politicians who will enter the House of Lords include former Conservative Party chairman Sir Patrick McLoughlin, former Tory culture minister Ed Vaizey.

Of the Labour MPs honoured, Ms Hoey and Ms Stewart were prominent pro-Brexit campaigners during the 2016 EU referendum.

Philip May, husband of former Prime Minister Theresa May, gets a knighthood for “political service”.

Source link

Share on Facebook
Follow us